A Tale of 20 Years of Startup Pivots

Joe Bayen
1 min readApr 12, 2024

--

My entrepreneurial journey started 20 years ago in 2004, following an injury that ended my dream of representing Cameroon in the 100m at the 2004 Olympics.

The disappointment was short-lived thanks to a serendipitous encounter on the train ride back to my club team, leading me to be introduced to Sébastien Deguy, CEO and founder at Allegoritmic, later acquired by Adobe and rebranded Adobe Substance 3D.

I will forever be grateful for Sebastien, who took a leap of faith and offered me my first job, putting me in charge of opening Allegoritmic’s US offices and leading business development efforts, and for still supporting me to this day as a Grow Credit investor.

I shared our tumultuous and tortuous journey on the popular Dealmaker Podcast, which was filled with dramatic and unusual pivots. I included origin stories, such as being introduced to chess at a tender age, and shared tips on embracing stress as a catalyst for creativity and personal growth.

Our imagination is truly the only limit. Thank you, Alejandro Cremades, for the opportunity to share my journey.

Listen to the full Podcast here: https://alejandrocremades.com/joe-bayen/

--

--